Urbex 101

What is Urbex?

Urban exploration (often shortened as urbex, UE, bexing, urbexing and sometimes known as roof-and-tunnel hacking) is the exploration of man-made structures, usually abandoned ruins or not usually seen components of the man-made environment. Photography and historical interest/documentation are heavily featured in the hobby.

Is It Legal?

Umm… so usually no. Most places are abandoned, but still on private property. Technically it’s trespassing as well as breaking and entering. SO TECHNICALLY you can be arrested, although in most cases if someone sees you are just taking photos, you usually get off with a slap on the wrist and a warning.

BUT, for some places, if you put in a little bit of effort you can get permission to go to places. In order to get access to the abandoned nuclear ship I sent an email every two week for a year and a half until I got permission to access it. Some places have owners who will allow you to if you ask nicely and sign some wavers. You never know unless you try.

6B8EA07D-A6BB-4D20-BBA9-6D9030C2243D

Other places, like museums or haunted attractions will also allow you to take pictures. Eastern State Penitentiary, an abandoned prison is a museum and will allow you to.  Pennhurst is an abandoned asylum that will also allow you to visit, usually during Halloween season.

What Do I need to Bring?

I usually bring a lot when I explore, simply because I take photos, so what you need might be a little different, but here is a starter list that you can tailor to your needs

What to wear:

  • Long pants (even in the summer)
  • Sturdy boots with ankle support
  • A shirt you don’t mind getting dirty
  • Jackets if it is colds-l300
  • Thick Socks
  • Something to protect your face (people use surgical masks, gas masks, and much more, I get my face shields from https://safishing.com/ because I like the designs)

I know what your thinking, do I really need a face mask? YES. Many buildings have asbestos or large amounts of dust and dirt. You will also be surprised how toxic pigeon shit is to breathe in.

In your bag:

  • A camera
  • A strong flashlight
  • Work gloves
  • A first aid kit

Is It Safe?

Urbex can be safe, but only if you’re smart. Something can always happen though. I have fallen through a floor on two separate occasions, I’ve been threatened by squatters, I had to get an emergency tetanus shot, and an ungodly number of cuts and bruises.

tome

If you are smart, and stay alert, you wont get more then a scratch or bruise. Don’t walk up sketchy stairs or on floors that looks not un-sturdy. Your safety is more important.

Use common sense, watch where you walk, keep your shoes tied tightly. If you do, you are going to be safe.

 

 

Stay Alert, Stay Alive

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Urbex 101

  1. Great post- the formatting makes it easy to read! I’d love to read some anecdotal expansions– maybe about the times you fell through the floor or your time at the nuclear ship? Not sure if the pictures you included are yours, but you mentioned you like to take photos when you go. Seeing some of yours would be interesting, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely think you should share some of your own stories and pictures of your adventures! I used to live in Munich (Germany) before I moved here, and my friends and I would sometimes roam around and explore abandoned buildings, parks, tunnels etc… and I remember it being really fun. I will definitely be reading your blogs from now on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always wanted to go to Germany!! So many places there to explore, all of the pictures on this blog are mine (except the one of the face shield). Thanks so much for reading!

      Like

Leave a comment